Backstreet Boys Make Me Wish I still lived in 1998

I now declare Thursdays Throwback Thursdays, brought to you by iWatchiAm.  Every Thursday I will be posting a classic throwback (mostly 90s/early 2000s pop) that we all (used to) know and love! Last week was Natalie Imbruglia’s ‘Torn’, which was performed on The Voice by Juliet Simms the very next day! Strange coincidence or destiny?

This week’s classic throwback is ‘We’ve Got It Goin’ On’ by The Backstreet Boys.  Made in 1998, the video is AMAZING, 90s boy band at it’s best: complete with supa dance moves, matching jean jacket/white t-shirt outfits, and a basketball game/car wash(?).

Wazzup, Kev, it’s good to see you again!  As you may already know, it was announced this week that Kevin will be returning to the group!! And, not just for one song or one show!! As someone who didn’t always love Kevin (Brian was my favorite), I have missed him more and more with each year that went by without him, and I think we can all agree that the classic BSB harmonies just aren’t the same without him.

I LOVE The Backstreet Boys, and I am thrilled that Kevin (who left the group after their album ‘Never Gone’) will return permanently to the group!!! I am especially excited because this gives me an excuse to go see them in concert again.  My dream finally came true last summer when I saw the NKOTBSB concert.  It was definitely one of the best night’s of my life (no hyperbole here).  I just want to see Kevin perform his verse of ‘I Want It That Way‘…is that too much for a girl to ask??

Now, if there are any of you who are wondering why I picked this song and not ‘Everybody’ or ‘I Want It That Way’, the reason is simple: I’m hoping this reminds you of all those random BSB songs you used to know by heart, and have since left behind.  Any self-respecting BSB fan still listens to ‘I Want It That Way’ on occasion, but older songs like ‘We’ve Got It Goin’ On’ deserve some play time too!

Other awesome things about this music video: the huge cell phones, the jumpsuits, the over-sized shirts, Nick’s weird hats (and hair), Kevin rockin’ the bench press and pouring water on himself, and, wait, why are they in the woods?

Are you as excited as I am for Kevin’s return?? Did you obsess over BSB when you were younger?  Who is your favorite Backstreet Boy? Tell me more in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

