Instant eliminations and Justin Bieber: this week on The Voice

This week, The Voice decided to up the ante a bit with a new Monday-night elimination. Blake and Christina both had to send one of their contestants home after the live performances, instead of sending home two contestants on Tuesdays.  Personally, I don’t see why this is necessary, but it does make it a bit more interesting.  And, I suppose, now that they are competing with American Idol and X-Factor, they have to find a new hook to make it more dramatic.  Still, I hate how fast the eliminations go on The Voice.  As I said before, there are so many eliminated contestants that I want to see more of. But, alas, I digress.

My mixed feelings on the instant eliminations aside, this week’s episodes definitely changed the game.

Considered a front-runner by many judges and viewers, Jesse Campbell’s unexciting rendition of Beyoncé’s ‘Halo’ got him sent home by Christina Monday night.  It was a shock, but one that I welcomed.  Jesse has an amazing voice, but all of his performances have been pretty similar, and, at a certain point, Christina has more to do with the other contestants.  He also lost me when he showed up in that outfit: wearing a fedora and a tight Henley, he just looked like he was begging for the youth vote.  As for Blake, he chose to eliminate Jordis Unga, saying that he was going to side with the audience and eliminate her because she was in the bottom three last time. Say what you will about who really deserved to go home, but you have to respect Blake for considering the viewers in his decision.

For those of you who watched last night’s eliminations, you know that Ashley De La Rosa and RaeLynn, the youngest contestants this season, were sent home. I have mixed feelings about this.  Both girls delivered great performances Monday night, and my love for Ashley will never die, but, in the end, I was okay with RaeLynn leaving.

From Team Blake, Jermaine Paul, who performed ‘Against All Odds’ by Phil Collins this week, completely deserved his save by the audience. His emotional performance was superb. With simple staging and costuming, Jermaine let the audience really focus on his voice. It definitely made me stand and take notice.

At first, I didn’t think I would like Rae Lynn, but she kept surprising me with her country style.  I love how hardcore she gets; she truly forces you to listen to her.  Plus, she’s incredibly cute and charming.  But, I do agree that this was her time.  She was up against Erin Willett in the bottom two, who knocked Adele out of the park on Monday (a practically impossible thing to do.)  It really was no contest.

I am much more upset to see Ashley go.  Her performance of Jewel’s ‘Foolish Games’  on Monday night was really powerful and moving.

Adam keeps saying it, and I keep agreeing, she really does improve drastically each week.  I’m sad we won’t be able to see more of her in the coming weeks. She was in the bottom two with Lindsay Pavao, who lost me with her performance of Katy Perry’s ‘Part Of Me’.  All of her performances are starting to blend together for me, but she is a truly unique talent, so I understand why Christina chose to keep her on.  I’m really just mad because Chris Mann was saved by the viewer’s votes.

Chris Mann is talented, no question.  His operatic voice is undeniable, but his performances are simply too cold and detached. He seems to lack a real emotional connection to his songs.  Honestly, I just don’t find him exciting to watch anymore.  In contrast, Ashley always grabs my attention.  When she performed Lady Gaga’s ‘You and I’ as her last chance song, I got chills.  I’m pretty sure Christina felt the same way; she got very emotional when the time came for her to make a decision.  I have a suspicion that, had Chris Mann been in the bottom two, he would have been the one sent home.

Monday’s episode also featured two team performances and a nice performance by Maroon 5, featuring Wiz Khalifa, of their new single ‘Payphone.’ But, it was Tuesday’s episode that featured the really important guest: Justin Bieber.

Yes, the Biebs stopped by to debut an ‘exclusive clip’ of his new music video, ‘Boyfriend.’ For all the hype, I was expecting a bit more than thirty seconds, but I’ll take what I can get! If the makeover (featuring a new, big boy haircut) wasn’t indicative of the fact that Justin is all grown up, the video definitely is. The clip features Justin being caressed by many female hands (all above the waist, ladies) and shows him whispering in a girl’s ear seductively. He also announced the official release date of his next album, ‘Believe’, which will be available June 19th, and promised Carson Daly that he would return to perform ‘Boyfriend’ on the season finale of The Voice.

Great moments of the week: 1) Blake being an awesome coach, bringing his team to perform on stage at one of his concerts, 2) Adam upstaging Carson around the 53minute mark of Monday’s episode (according to Hulu) as they came back from commercial.

Performance of the week: Jermaine Paul.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be listening to the Ashley De La Rosa songs I just downloaded on iTunes.

Will you miss Ashley De La Rosa as much as I will? Do you think anyone on Team Blake or Team Christina can win this season?

Leave a Reply

